Sometimes, helping someone out is so much easier than talking with them.  During our trip, several students were more interested in talking with the people that we were helping than assisting in the clean-up effort.  This was great to see.  Sometimes it was easier for me to complete the task (clean out the church, remove fallen trees, pile up items on the curb, shovel through the rubble) than it was to listen to people’s story.  I get this from my father who demonstrates affection by repairing my car, installing a new light fixture or fixing the plumbing in my house.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “

  1. your love language is acts of service! 🙂

  2. sounds like you guys had a great time!!  I think I would had a sense of fullfillment in helping but saddened at the same time.  Seeing pictures on tv alone makes you feel the loss for them.

  3. So have you read the book “The 5 Love Languages”?

  4. Anonymous

    I thought your love language was sarcasm? Was that Ron?Peace

  5. Hey Jesse,
    This is Tim Hatch, thanks for commenting and contacting me . . . how’s it going?  John Gatti got me on this thing and told me you were in touch . . . give me more info man, when you get a change.
    Peace.

  6. Yes, I’ve read the book.  I prefer to give acts of service but receive quality time.  I don’t know if that is how it is supposed to work or not.
    Sarcasm… Ron, as well as manipulation.

  7. That name is funny…the nickname part I meant.  Reminds me of my “high school gangsta” days and listening to hard-core rap.  Thanks for the try though!

Leave a Reply

