Does anyone happen to know what Poison Ivy looks like?  It is creeping around in my backyard and I got a hold of some.  What a stupid plant!


I bought some beer the other night.  Two different gardners and a 500-page book on gardening told me that if I put some beer in ground level dishes, the slugs would drink it and die instead of getting fat off of my plants.  It worked.  Slugs think that they like Rocky Mountain refreshment in the specially-lined can but really, they don’t.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “

  1. jessie I laughed out loud reading “Slugs think that they like Rocky Mountain refreshment in the specially-lined can but really, they don’t.”  That is quite possible no it is the funniest thing I’ve ever heard you say!!!!  yeah and ah poison ivy real red real raised, real itchy spreads fast. 

  2. I also may use the slug’s drunken death-swim as an illustration to my children about the hazards of drinking alcohol.

  3. Anonymous

    This sounds like it is violation of Huntington’s alcohol policy, I am pretty sure that constitutes possession…I suggest putting yourself on probation, and no fantasy baseball for 30 days!

  4. I thought about using some of the skunky beer that I have in my office that someone confiscated before I got here.  I put the beer that I bought out in the garage so one of the kids wouldn’t accidently open it up.  That special liner that is supposed to help keep it cool is having to work overtime.
    Beer doesn’t look so good after it has been sitting in the sun for a few days and filled with slugs.

  5. I came to tell you that I laughed out loud at the beer/slug thing, but somebody already beat me to it. Everybody know that only one person telling you they laughed at your story is acceptable. For shame.
    At least I have some helpful informations:The leaves of poison ivy are compound with three almond-shaped leaflets. “Leaves of three, let it be!”

  6. This shall be forwarded to the appropriate trustee. Maybe. Maybe not. What’s in it for me?

  7. My mom saves egg shells at breaks them up around the garden.  Slugs crawl on them and it rips their fragile bodies to shreds.

  8. hilarious…it’s brilliant…absolutely brilliant! I always enjoy reading your posts Jesse! I hope you and the family are doing well! I think about you guys often and am thankful for your hearts and your ministry! Thanks for everything! -Jalonna

  9. the only thing worse then poison ivy is poison oak.  i have it in my back yard.  it is such a bummer.  i had it for one month until they finally gave me 2 shots to get rid of it.  How do you know if slugs are your problem???

  10. From my limited experience, slugs eating the plants will leave them looking brown, wilted and covered in holes.

Leave a Reply

