A few thoughts about our recent trip home to Ohio and return to Indiana:

  • We have a strange definition of “home”.  Is Akron, Ohio or Huntington, Indiana home?  I guess, yes.  Huntington has become home for us but there is also a comfort of being in Akron with family.  Our children do not know Ohio as home.  We don’t have a home church in Akron any longer because we feel out of place where we used to attend.
  • It is good to connect with old friends.  I was able to eat breakfast and spend some time with Pastor Ford, Josh & Kim.  It’s nice to be able to pick up where you left off.  I have always appreciated their friendship and wish that we were geographically closer together.
  • I purchased a CD from the coffeeshop that I visit when we go to Akron.  It is a Putumayo American Folk CD that has become sort of a soundtrack.  Like here in Huntington, I need to visit a coffeeshop to unwind often when we return home to Akron.  There is a Rico Latte off of Route 8 that seems to be a comfortable spot and they are constantly playing the CD that I purchased.  Some of the artists on it are Peter Mulvey, Eric Bibb and Shannon McNally.  In the liner notes,many of the artists refer to Gillian Welch as inspiration.
  • Our house is a mess.  We left to go home to Akron before we were able to recover from an early Christmas morning.
  • The weather has been warm enough to continue planting bulbs that will grow when spring comes.  The other night, Isaac and I were outside in the dark.  He was holding the flashlight while I dug to plant some tulip bulbs.
  • It is great to hear about the success that Valley Forge is having.  Their enrollment is upwards of 975.  When I attended, it was around 550.  The theatre was recently remodelled.  I remember seeing my first JC Powerhouse in the theatre.  I also remember watching “The Three Musketeers” and “Arsenic and Old Lace” in there.
  • Since we are past December 21, each day will be longer than the one before.  This business of the sun getting up at 8:15 am and going down at 5:00 pm is not for me.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. It was great to see you over the break. Have a Happy New Year!

  2. We had a great time.  Like some sort of extended family.  Glad you’re home safe.

Leave a Reply

